Just Fine With Caroline by Annie England Noblin



ADD ME On GOODREADS!
AVAILABLE on AMAZON!
Follow the author on FACEBOOK




ABOUT THE BOOK


From the author of Sit! Stay! Speak! comes a tender, terrific novel complete with long-buried secrets, a three-legged pot belly pig, and an irresistible dog—an unforgettable story about love, friendship, and community. Perfect for fans of Mary Kay Andrews and Mary Alice Monroe.
Caroline O’Connor never dreamed she’d be back home in Cold River, Missouri, the Ozark Mountain town where everyone is ‘up your business.’…they mean well as they drive you crazy. She thought she’d left town for good, but now she’s back, helping to care for her New York born mother—struck with Alzheimer’s, and prone to saying and doing anything—and her father, the beloved local doctor frustrated he can’t cure his own wife.
As for Caroline, she’s doing ‘
just fine’ coping with her parents, her brazen cousin Ava Dawn’s marital disasters, her mostly-deaf dog…and with Noah Cranwell, far-flung relative of a local family mostly infamous for running moonshine, an ex-veteran who’s come to Cold River with troubles of his own.
Caroline believes she knows everything about Cold River and the people who live in its hills and hollers … but sometimes life’s greatest surprises happen closest to home.



REVIEW BY K

These kind of books are definitely my favorites when I am in the mood for something light on the heart.  I love small town settings...   I love the mountains...  I love it when authors throw in a little bit of animal love...   and I especially love it when a little bit of real life is thrown in that taps into the readers emotions.  This story was a perfect mix of all of these things and even though it was somewhat predictable, the author still managed to make me smile, make me tear up a little, and I was steadily turning the pages!  Definitely a wonderful book to pick up on a lazy afternoon when you want some easy reading. 
Caroline had to come home so she could help take care of her mother who has Alzheimer's.  I have several friends who have gone through the same thing and it is so difficult.  I thought the author handled this topic very well.  There is also something that is always so compelling to me about heading back to the place where you grew up.  As someone who has always lived away from the place I grew up, it is always something that intrigues me.  Especially when you get there and find out that some things never change!  It is definitely true! 
There is a nice edge of mystery to the story as it progresses.  Caroline finds out that even in this small town where everyone knows everything secrets cans still be kept. 
Caroline and Noah both have their reasons for coming home.  Their relationship brings in a little bit of romance to tie up the story with a nice little bow. 
Wonderful story and I am looking forward to reading more by this author in the future.  Definitely a book I would recommend to the small town romance fan. 

4 delightful stars!  :)

Many thanks to the publisher for the complimentary copy of this book.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR



Annie England Noblin lives with her son, husband, and three dogs in the Missouri Ozarks. She graduated with an M.A. in creative writing from Missouri State University and currently teaches English and communications for Arkansas State University in Mountain Home, Arkansas. Her poetry has been featured in such publications as the Red Booth Review and the Moon City Review. She spends her free time playing make-believe, feeding stray cats, and working with animal shelters across the country to save homeless dogs.

Praise for Annie England Noblin
“Readers of Debbie Macomber will enjoy poet and nonfiction author Noblin’s first novel. It’s an enjoyable story full of laughter, tears, and just plain fun.”— Library Journal on Sit! Stay! Speak!

“Noblin’s fish-out-of-water story combines food, family, suspense, and romance into one delightful read. [... ] a comfort read that’s perfect for a summer night. A cozy read that’s full of dogs, romance, and small-town charm.”— Kirkus Reviews on Sit! Stay! Speak!

“Full of southern charm and colloquialisms, Noblin’s first novel explores the curious bond between man and beast. A warm, emotionally grounded story that will delight fans of Mary Kay Andrews and contemporary women’s fiction.”— Booklist on Sit! Stay! Speak!

No comments:

Post a Comment