Blog Tour! Winds of Betrayal Series by Jerri Hines

 
Winds of Betrayal Series
Author: Jerri Hines
Genre: Historical Fiction/Adult
Publisher: Self-Published
 
The Cry For Freedom and Embrace of the Enemy was once Patriot Secrets.
 
The Cry For Freedom, Book One Winds of Betrayal
Publication Date: February 7, 2013
 
The winds of change brews over the colonies. Tension against the crown is mounting daily. In Williamsburg, the rebellion burns strong in the hearts of two siblings, Jonathan and Hannah Corbett. Spirited and headstrong, Hannah finds herself thrust in the middle of a conspiracy when her father receives a strange package from Philadelphia. Jonathan, a physician for the Continental Army, is torn between duty and family. With war looming on the horizon, the siblings soon discover there is a high price to be paid for the cry for freedom.
The Saga continues….
 
Embrace of the Enemy, Book Two, Winds of Betrayal
Publication Date: November, 2013
Add to Goodreads

It's a dangerous game you set to play, Miss Corbett. One that can have far worse than deadly consequences!
In the midst of the struggle of America's bid for independence, Hannah Corbett makes a fateful decision, descending into a world of deceit. Spurred by revenge, she heads to New York, setting in motion a dangerous game for which there is no return. Searching desperately for the man who betrayed her family, she faces the cold and brutal reality of the life of a spy. Caught in a web of lies, living with betrayal, she is trapped. She has nowhere to turn except to a man it would be treasonous to love, setting duty and desire at war. Her heart is ripped apart when she must choose between the man who risks his career and life to protect her and the only thing that has remained constant in her life...her belief in her cause.
 
 
 

Kiss of Deceit, Book Three, Winds of Betrayal Series
Publication Date: August 2012
Add to Goodreads

The tides of war have shifted. When all eyes turn south, Doctor Jonathan Corbett finds himself once more thrust into the war’s turmoil. On assignment from General Washington, the dashing doctor discovers his mission has taken him straight into a conflict where the British are not the only ones to be feared.
Rebekah Morse has no time to contemplate the exploding war around her. Caught up as a pawn in a deadly conspiracy, she finds her only hope lies with her old friend, but things have changed since they last saw each other.
Yet destiny has not intervened in their lives without cause. Rebekah’s strength, courage, and breathtaking sensuality set within Jonathan a desire he swore never to feel again. When Rebekah’s life is threatened, Jonathan is determined to save the stubborn woman whether she wants to be saved or not. Now Jonathan and Rebekah must face the perilous threat together—only to discover a passion they never imagined...
 
THE HEAVENS SHALL FALL, Book Four Winds of Betrayal Publication Date: May 2014
 
Excerpt from THE HEAVENS SHALL FALL
 
In the last few years, Jonathan had faced death a thousand times. He had not feared death, but never had he wanted to live more than he did at this moment. On the battlefield, there was no time to contemplate what he would lose. He had a mission…a purpose that he believed in passionately.
Yet in the stillness of the prison he had been placed, he had too much time to think of what could have been. Now, they had brought him here to the courtyard. He had not expected to see her. But she was there.
Rebekah stood with her back to him surrounded by a swarm of red uniformed soldiers. It mattered little. He hadn’t thought he would have this opportunity…the chance to say goodbye.
She turned. She wore the gown he had last seen her when they had taken him from the courthouse earlier in the day, wrinkled and soiled. She had clearly walked through the filthy streets. The hem of her skirt was caked with dried mud.
For a moment, she stood frozen. Her reddened and swollen eyes fixed on him as was his on her. He saw her bottom lip trembled. In a small, shaking voice, she cried his name. “Jonathan!”
Then she ran. The guards released their hold and he had her in his arms. In front of all around him, he kissed her, long and hard. A kiss to last a lifetime…a last kiss.
He broke from her lips and touched her face. She gripped his hand tightly.
“I can’t do this, Jonathan. I can’t. I don’t understand. You’re a doctor. A physician. Why are they accusing you of this awful crime?”
He shook his head, finding his strength faltering. He couldn’t. She would never survive if he did. He swallowed hard to find the courage he didn’t feel. “It is war, my darling. Nothing makes sense. We both know the enemies I have made over the years. It is a price that will have to be paid. Sacrifice is not new to either of us. As your father and mine before me. Be strong.”
“No, no, I won’t let them,” she whispered against his lips. Her head tilted against his. “I won’t. I won’t lose you, too. I’ll give them my ships if they will pardon you. I’ll call them back into port. I can. I will tell Daniel…”
“Rebekah, don’t. They aren’t going to change their minds. They are fixing to make an example. I will only be part of it. I don’t want you to suffer. Leave. For God’s sake woman, listen to me this time. Get hold of Daniel when the city settles.”
“Jonathan, I won’t leave you.”
A small smile emerged on his face. His stubborn Rebekah. His eyes swelled. He cupped her face in his hands. “Listen, my love. I love you. You have given me a happiness I had never known. Keep me in your heart and I will always be with you. Promise me…promise me you will go to Williamsburg. I will die my death knowing you will be safe in family that will love and care for you. Tell William I love him. Tell him…tell him his father died with honor.”
Rebekah grasped for breath. Her control shattered. “I won’t lose you, Jonathan. I won’t. You don’t understand. You are my life. I have nothing…nothing without you.”
From the corner of his eye, he saw movement. He felt a hand on his shoulder.
“The allotted time is up.” The guard spoke in a soft almost sympathetic voice. “We need to return you to your cell.”
Rebekah’s eyes widened. She gripped hold of his waist coat and refused to let go. “No…no,” she begged. “Five more minutes. Please. Five more minutes.”
Jonathan found himself lost for words. What more could one say when no words could convey the love he held within him for the woman. He felt hands peel his wife from him his side and his heart broke. “I love you, Rebekah, for always.”
Suddenly, the man whose hands held to his wife came into focus. Jonathan forgot everything except the rage flaming within him. Black Rory!
“Get your hands off of my wife!” Jonathan shouted. He fought the restraints against his arms. More guards converged upon him. “Don’t touch her, you bastard!”
Rebekah jerked her arm from Black Rory and raced back towards her husband. She was met with resistance. Physically thrust back through the door, his last vision was of Black Rory grasping hold of Rebekah.
 
 
Winds of Betrayal Boxed Set Purchase Links
Purchase Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
 
 
About the Author
 
 

Jerri Hines writes under three pen names: Colleen Connally, Carrie James Haynes and Jerri Hines.
One can find other historical series under her name of Jerri Hines. She has a historical romance series, the Tides of Charleston: The Judas Kiss, the Promise, and Another Night Falls with Whiskey Creek Press. She also has a historical fiction series the Winds of Betrayal: The Cry For Freedom, Embrace of the Enemy, Kiss of Deceit, and coming 2014, The Heavens shall Fall.
Colleen Connally is one of the pen names of Jerri Hines. Under Colleen Connally, she has written a historical romance series, Secret Lives, which is riddled with romantic suspense and a touch of paranormal. The Secret Lives Series consist of Seductive Secrets , Broken Legacy, and now Seductive Lies. Fragmented, Book One Boston's Crimes of Passion, marks Ms Connally's first contemporary suspense thriller.
She began using a pen name, Carrie James Haynes, when she released the fantasy saga, Whispers of a Legend. Shadows of the Past (free ebook) is the first in the series. She is excited about Whispers of a Legend, a sweeping epic fantasy saga filled with adventure and romance. Whispers of a Legend, Part One-Shadows of the Past and Part Two- The Path Now Turned, Part Three- Vision of Destiny, and Part Four-Time of the Nuxvenom has been released. She also has released a paranormal suspense, Dreamscape.
 
CREATIVE MUSING
I suppose every writer has their own ritual in their writing process. We all need to call forth our muse to help create our story. With me, I love my music. It inspires me. The music I listen to depends on what scene I’m writing. Some writers like complete silence writing. Not me.
There's a song I love by David Nail called Sound of a Million Dreams. The chorus words say:
 
So I labor for hours 'cause I know the power
Of a song when when a song hits you right
Pouring my soul into stories of life
Hoping someone'll hear one tonight
Maybe my voice will cut through the noise
And stir up an old memory
And out of these piano keys
Comes the sound, the sound of a million dreams
 
 
Music does that for me. It can stir up a memory with only the first few beats. Music stirs emotions. I have to write to music. I get into a zone with the right music. If anyone is around when I'm writing, they may be entertained by the same song over and over again. I do that when I find that right song matching my mood when I'm writing...Music takes me there.
When I hear the song again, it does take me back to where I was when I was writing that particular book. Memories come rushing back. I thought you might enjoy a list of some songs that inspired me while I wrote or am in the processing of writing the book.
 
Winds of Betrayal 1 & 2   
The Ghost of You and I by BBMak
If You’re Gone by Match Box 20
Kiss of Deceit
 Kissed You Good Night by Gloiranna
The Heavens Shall Fall
Mind Would Be You by Blake Shelton
Seductive Secrets under my penname Colleen Connally  
Secrets by One Republic 
Broken Legacy under my penname Colleen Connally 
  Come Wake Me Up by Rascal Flatts
 
Winds of Betrayal saga is a riveting, captivating historical series. I invite you to be swept away back into the past. Enjoy!
 

Point of Return (Nordic Lords #1) by Stacey Lynn ~Release Blitz~

 
 
Title: Point of Return (Nordic Lords #1)
Author: Stacey Lynn
Release Date: April 22, 2014
Genre: Contemporary Romance
 
add-to-goodreads-button31
 
Synopsis
 
Deceit. Destruction. Death. Olivia Masters grew up familiar with all of them. The daughter of the President of the Nordic Lords Motorcycle Club, Olivia always knew she wanted nothing to do with any of it. Her plans were made to leave the town she grew up in as soon as she and her boyfriend, Daemon Knight, turned eighteen. But then Olivia was shot. Her mother killed in front of her. Fleeing became her reality. Forced to return to her hometown of Jasper Bay five years later, events beyond Olivia’s control put her directly back into the life she swore she’d never return to. Her dad wants her back in the family. Daemon wants her in his bed. But just as Olivia begins to accept her destiny, history finds a way to repeat itself. This time, will Olivia be strong enough to fight for the family she once turned her back on? Or will she once again flee from the only life that has ever felt like home?
 
Buy the Book
Amazon    US     UK
 
POR ebook
 
About the Author
 
1185803_333069440172065_1348106691_n
 
Amazon Bestselling Author Just One Song and Just One Week Don't Lie to Me, and Remembering Us. I am a wife, a mom, and a writer. I can often be found curled up on the couch with a good book, or obsessively eating Skittles in a very complicated and organized manner. No joke.

BTSPRprofile-1

99¢ Sale: Come Undone (The Cityscape Series, #1)

 
B&N 
Kobo 


Jessica Hawkins, Author

INTERVIEW with Mind Games author Christine Amsden





Beware your heart and soul…

Evan broke Cassie’s heart two months ago, and she still doesn’t know why. She throws herself into family, friends and her new job at the sheriff’s department, but nothing helps. The only thing that finally allows her heal and move on is the love of a new man, mind mage Matthew Blair. Cassie finds him…irresistible.

Matthew may also be the only one who can help keep the non-magical residents of Eagle Rock from going crazy over the murder of a beloved pastor’s wife. It looks like a sorcerer is to blame, but while Cassie tries to figure out who, others take matters into their own hands. With tensions running so hot, a single spark might set Eagle Rock ablaze.

First Chapter: http://christineamsden.com/wordpress/?page_id=3118  (Warning: Contains series spoilers. New readers to the series would be better off checking out the preview of book one below.)

Buy Links




Other titles in this series:

Cassie Scot: ParaNormal Detective

Cassie Scot is the ungifted daughter of powerful sorcerers, born between worlds but belonging to neither. At 21, all she wants is to find a place for herself, but earning a living as a private investigator in the shadow of her family’s reputation isn’t easy. When she is pulled into a paranormal investigation, and tempted by a powerful and handsome sorcerer, she will have to decide where she truly belongs.


Buy Links for Cassie Scot: ParaNormal Detecitve


Secrets and Lies (Cassie Scot Book 2)

Cassie Scot, still stinging from her parents’ betrayal, wants out of the magical world. But it isn’t letting her go. Her family is falling apart and despite everything, it looks like she may be the only one who can save them.
To complicate matters, Cassie owes Evan her life, making it difficult for her to deny him anything he really wants. And he wants her. Sparks fly when they team up to find two girls missing from summer camp, but long-buried secrets may ruin their hopes for happiness.






Christine Amsden has been writing fantasy and science fiction for as long as she can remember. She loves to write and it is her dream that others will be inspired by this love and by her stories. Speculative fiction is fun, magical, and imaginative but great speculative fiction is about real people defining themselves through extraordinary situations. Christine writes primarily about people and relationships, and it is in this way that she strives to make science fiction and fantasy meaningful for everyone.

At the age of 16, Christine was diagnosed with Stargardt’s Disease, a condition that effects the retina and causes a loss of central vision. She is now legally blind, but has not let this slow her down or get in the way of her dreams.

In addition to writing, Christine teaches workshops on writing at Savvy Authors. She also does some freelance editing work.

Christine currently lives in the Kansas City area with her husband, Austin, who has been her biggest fan and the key to her success. They have two beautiful children.

Social Media Links:




KT Interview with Christine Amsden



1. What or who inspired Cassie Scot's character?

Cassie came to me during a time when I was trying to define who I was as a writer. My first two books, Touch of Fate and The Immortality Virus, were in different genres, appealed to different audiences, and had different strengths. I'm proud of them both for different reasons, but I felt like I needed to more tightly define who and what I am as an author.

I know exactly who I am now. I'm a character girl. To heck with genre. I'd like to boycott genre!

Great characters come in all different shapes and sizes, but I wanted to write about someone struggling with a personal issue. Someone who had to overcome adversity to succeed. I've tried, in the past, writing a character with my own personal issue (I'm legally blind), but it's too close. Cassie, as a woman with no magic born into a family of sorcerers, was an abstract outlet.

2. What has surprised you the most during your writing endeavor?

The romance between Cassie and Evan surprised the heck out of me. I knew I wanted to put a romance into this series, I knew that the minor romantic subplots in my first two books were some of my favorite parts and that I wanted to make the romance bigger here. More important.

But I didn't know how much *I* would fall in love with Evan! Plus, I even surprised myself when I came up with the ending to Secrets and Lies (book 2), which set the tone and the tension for the rest of the series. Great romance, in my opinion, shows a couple who clearly belongs together struggling through difficulties that make your heart squeeze for them because you know this isn't going to come easy. The best romances manage to make you forget during key moments that the genre demands “happily ever after.” When I hear from readers who desperately want Cassie and Evan to get together, but truly fear they won't, I know I've done my job.

3. How many books are planned for this series?

There will be four Cassie Scot books, plus two spin-off sequels, one for Madison, and one for Kaitlin. The core series will be out by this summer (2014). Madison's Song is written but the publication schedule is not set. Kaitlin's Tale is in another document on my computer right now. I have written … 38,817 words so far. That's not quite halfway through the rough draft. I'm hoping to have it finished by the end of the year.

4. Out of all your characters whom would you most like to sit down to dinner with?

Probably Kaitlin. But that's because I know things about her that no one else does, including Cassie. Kaitlin's got some issues and could use a friend. But she's also got this energy about her that would make her a fun dinner companion.

5. And finally, here at KT Book Reviews we talk a lot about wine and Chocolate so.... What wine and which chocolate? :)

Chocolate! I'm a chocolate snob, so for me it's going to be Lindt Truffles or Godiva milk chocolate sea salt caramels. As for the wine, I'm going to have to substitute milk. I know it's not sophisticated of me, but alcohol and I don't get along (except in cooking – my liquor cabinet is amazingly well stocked for someone who doesn't drink). I'm one of those people who gets super sleepy when I drink (which takes the fun right out of an evening) and over the past few years, I've noticed that I also get a little sore throat too. Allergy? Whatever it is, the only time I drink anymore is at Christmas when my dad makes hot buttered rum.




Mind Games is certainly my favorite in the Cassie Scot Series so far guys! We start off in the thick of it, Evan kicking butt with an assist from Hunter/Vamp(ish) Jason and a revelation in Evan’s thinking.

Meanwhile, Cassie, nursing a broken heart, has pieced a life together with her friends in a new apartment. Working for the sheriff and a new partner, she is trying to solve the murder of the pastors’ wife.

The differences and the hate some of the townspeople feel toward each other really comes into focus when even the children show unusually high actions in hate. At times I felt sickened by the hatred that Cassie and her family endured. It’s not normal for people to behave this way and with such fervor. Something’s happening:  a shift in thinking and morals, or is a darker force at play?

So now for the nitty-gritty of Cassie and Evan. Whelp - Cassie is still hurt, so when our boy Evan tries to smooth things over he’s met with the stinging fact that our Cassie ain’t having it! She has met a new guy in town. Charismatic and smooth, Mathew Blair has asked her out, and they are quickly turning into much more. Mathew is offering protection and security along with love. Evan will do whatever he can to make Cassie see that what she thinks she feels might not be real at all.

I gotta tell you - one of the reasons why I love this series so much is the innocence and vulnerability of Cassie. No matter what comes her way, she always tries to be a good person and help when she can. It really is a learning process for her. Cassie was so sheltered for so long, and with deep hurt inflicted by her parents, she is a thoughtful and soulful person.  It’s a great quality for her to have, especially since she deals so much with people and their emotions.

So to sum it up, the magic is subtle in Mind Games and the love story is just hitting its peak now that the truth is out. I cannot wait for what’s to come in book four of the Cassie Scot Series. It’s a great series and one I hope you read.



 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Praise for the Cassie Scot Series

From Publisher’s Weekly:
Amsden continues the story of the only mundane member of a supernaturally-gifted family in this middling sequel to Cassie Scot: ParaNormal Detective. Cassie, stubborn and proud, is bravely trying to live on her own after her family disowns her. Struggling to make ends meet, she accepts a case involving a pair of magical girls who disappeared from summer camp. With the aid of the handsome Evan Blackwood, to whom Cassie is attracted despite her family’s disapproval and her own better judgment, she follows the trail of the missing girls. What she finds is a dark side of the magical world, and the hidden depths of her family’s past force her to reconsider long-held assumptions. The growing complexity of Cassie’s world makes this an entertaining installment, focusing as much on the will-they, won’t-they romantic chemistry between Cassie and Evan as on the primary mystery. An inconclusive ending is clearly intended to feed into the next volume.”

Kim Falconer, bestselling author of The Spell of Rosette, Quantum Enchantment Series, had this to say:

“When sorcerers call the shots, what’s a girl without powers to do? Get ready for a ripper of a murder mystery full of romance and intrigue, where magic potions bubble, passions spark and vampires are definitely not your friend. Cassie Scot: ParaNormal Detective grabs you by the heart and won’t let go until the very last page. Well written, immersive and unputdownable. This is urban fantasy at its best. More please!”

Book Specifications

Title: Mind Games: a Cassie Scot novel
Author: Christine Amsden
Publisher: Twilight Times Books
Genre: paranormal fantasy
*Print ISBN: 978-1-60619-279-5
    Format: 5.5x8.5 trade paperback; 276 pages; $17.95 USD
*eBook ISBN: 978-1-60619-278-8; $6.50 USD
    Format: ebook in pdf, ePub, Kindle, Mobi, PRC, etc.
Distributors: Amazon Kindle; Apple iBookstore; BN.com Nook; Kobo Books; OmniLit, etc
Release date: April 15, 2014 ebook; June 15, 2014 trade paperback