The BookEnd ~ 5/17/2019

Happy Friday Book Friends!
Just a little FYI. 
I will be taking the latter part of next week off and  
the following week as well because my baby is graduating from college!!
We have family flying in and tons of food, outings, and drink will be happening.
Have a great weekend and upcoming week.







We have a private book club over on Facebook!
Feel free to check out The Book Babblers!
We have tons of giveaways and we're set as a private group so...
what happens in the group stays in the group! LOL!

A Bend in the Stars by Rachel Barenbaum


Releases May14th
Get it on AMAZON


For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes a riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart-pounding journey across WWI-era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve one of the greatest mysteries of the universe.

In Russia, in the summer of 1914, as war with Germany looms and the Czar's army tightens its grip on the local Jewish community, Miri Abramov and her brilliant physicist brother, Vanya, are facing an impossible decision. Since their parents drowned fleeing to America, Miri and Vanya have been raised by their babushka, a famous matchmaker who has taught them to protect themselves at all costs: to fight, to kill if necessary, and always to have an escape plan. But now, with fierce, headstrong Miri on the verge of becoming one of Russia's only female surgeons, and Vanya hoping to solve the final puzzles of Einstein's elusive theory of relativity, can they bear to leave the homeland that has given them so much?

Before they have time to make their choice, war is declared and Vanya goes missing, along with Miri's fiancé. Miri braves the firing squad to go looking for them both. As the eclipse that will change history darkens skies across Russia, not only the safety of Miri's own family but the future of science itself hangs in the balance.

Grounded in real history -- and inspired by the solar eclipse of 1914 -- A Bend in the Stars offers a heartstopping account of modern science's greatest race amidst the chaos of World War I, and a love story as epic as the railways crossing Russia.

Out East: Memoir of a Montauk Summer by John Glynn


Releases May 14th
Get it on Amazon



A gripping portrait of life in a Montauk summer house--a debut memoir of first love, identity and self-discovery among a group of friends who became family.


They call Montauk the end of the world, a spit of land jutting into the Atlantic. The house was a ramshackle split-level set on a hill, and each summer thirty one people would sleep between its thin walls and shag carpets. Against the moonlight the house's octagonal roof resembled a bee's nest. It was dubbed The Hive.

In 2013, John Glynn joined the share house. Packing his duffel for that first Memorial Day Weekend, he prayed for clarity. At 27, he was crippled by an all-encompassing loneliness, a feeling he had carried in his heart for as long as he could remember. John didn't understand the loneliness. He just knew it was there. Like the moon gone dark.

OUT EAST is the portrait of a summer, of the Hive and the people who lived in it, and John's own reckoning with a half-formed sense of self. From Memorial Day to Labor Day, The Hive was a center of gravity, a port of call, a home. Friendships, conflicts, secrets and epiphanies blossomed within this tightly woven friend group and came to define how they would live out the rest of their twenties and beyond.



Have You Seen Luis Velez? by Catherine Ryan Hyde


Get it on Amazon
LakeUnion/Little Bird
Release May 21st


From New York Times bestselling author Catherine Ryan Hyde comes a moving novel about two strangers who find that kindness is a powerful antidote to fear.

Raymond Jaffe feels like he doesn’t belong. Not with his mother’s new family. Not as a weekend guest with his father and his father’s wife. Not at school, where he’s an outcast. After his best friend moves away, Raymond has only two real connections: to the feral cat he’s tamed and to a blind ninety-two-year-old woman in his building who’s introduced herself with a curious question: Have you seen Luis Velez?

Mildred Gutermann, a German Jew who narrowly escaped the Holocaust, has been alone since her caretaker disappeared. She turns to Raymond for help, and as he tries to track Luis down, a deep and unexpected friendship blossoms between the two.

Despondent at the loss of Luis, Mildred isolates herself further from a neighborhood devolving into bigotry and fear. Determined not to let her give up, Raymond helps her see that for every terrible act the world delivers, there is a mirror image of deep kindness, and Mildred helps Raymond see that there’s hope if you have someone to hold on to.



Wow, you guys. Wow wow wow.

Raymond Jaffe has two beings he connects with. A feral cat he has some how tames and a ninety two year old blind woman. Her introduction to him was via one simple question… “Have you seen Luis Velez?”

Mildred Gutermann is a German Jew who finds an unlikely friend in Raymond. And what happens next is a beautiful journey into an albeit strange yet poignant friendship.

I LOVED this book. It’s one I will be buying in bulk and sharing with my friends and family. Something I’ve only done with three other books. (John Green’s-The fault in Our Stars, The Book Thief, and Tuesdays with Morrie)

It truly was an unexpected joy to read and a crowning moment for Catherine Ryan Hyde.

5 Stars
~Tanja

The BookEnd ~ 5/10/2019

Happy Friday Book Friends.
Wishing all you Mom's out there a 
HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY!





We have a private book club over on Facebook!
Feel free to check out The Book Babblers!
We have tons of giveaways and we're set as a private group so...
what happens in the group stays in the group! LOL!

The Orchid Sister by Anne D. LeClaire


🌺 Released  May 7th 🌺

Buy it on Amazon 

A heartbreaking and intriguing read. This is my first opportunity to read Anne D. LeClaire and I’m super excited to continue! I’m only a few chapters in and I’m already trying to sneak in more reading time. A big thank you to @lakeunionauthors and @amazonpublishing for sending it my way.



The people you love are taken from you. That's what Maddie DiMarco learned when she survived the plane crash that killed her parents. Fifteen years later, the scars remain. And the ones no can see are hardest to heal. Since the accident, Maddie's avoided the unpredictable and uncaring outside world, including any relationships--except for the one with her devoted older sister, Kat, who has always been there for her.

When Maddie meets handsome pilot Jack Moroni, she finally begins to let down her guard. But just as quickly, her hope and trust are once again shattered when a plane crash forces her to revisit her traumatic past. Maddie turns to her sister for comfort and guidance, only to realize that Kat is missing.

But Kat hasn't vanished without a trace. An investigative journalist, she's left behind a subtle trail of clues leading to the mysterious, myth-shrouded Yucatán coast of Mexico. To follow it, Maddie must confront her deepest fears--of flying, of intimacy, and of loss. She hopes that in doing so, she will find her sister. And if she's lucky, she may also find herself along the way. 🌺

The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

Get it on Amazon

For two sworn enemies, anything can happen during the Hawaiian trip of a lifetime—maybe even love—in this romantic comedy from the New York Times bestselling authors of Roomies.

Olive Torres is used to being the unlucky twin: from inexplicable mishaps to a recent layoff, her life seems to be almost comically jinxed. By contrast, her sister Ami is an eternal champion . . . she even managed to finance her entire wedding by winning a slew of contests. Unfortunately for Olive, the only thing worse than constant bad luck is having to spend the wedding day with the best man (and her nemesis), Ethan Thomas.

Olive braces herself for wedding hell, determined to put on a brave face, but when the entire wedding party gets food poisoning, the only people who aren’t affected are Olive and Ethan. Suddenly there’s a free honeymoon up for grabs, and Olive will be damned if Ethan gets to enjoy paradise solo.

Agreeing to a temporary truce, the pair head for Maui. After all, ten days of bliss is worth having to assume the role of loving newlyweds, right? But the weird thing is . . . Olive doesn’t mind playing pretend. In fact, the more she pretends to be the luckiest woman alive, the more it feels like she might be.

With Christina Lauren’s “uniquely hilarious and touching voice” (Entertainment Weekly), The Unhoneymooners is a romance for anyone who has ever felt unlucky in love.

Gallery Books - Releases May 14th


Talk about a laugh-a-minute read! Honestly, I feel as if this needs to be on every summer reading list and in every beach bag from coast to coast. The Unhoneymooners is a love-hate trope written with the comedic finesse that only the writing duo of Christina Lauren can deliver.

Maid of honor and best man, Olive, and Ethan bring the house down with their subtle shade and witty one-liners. Reading this book is a perfect way to spend an afternoon in the sun.


5 Hawaiian adventure stars!
~Tanja

The BookEnd ~ 5/3/2019




We have a private book club over on Facebook!
Feel free to check out The Book Babblers!
We have tons of giveaways and we're set as a private group so...
what happens in the group stays in the group! LOL!